TL;DR
Get workout gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
CMS finalized a 2027 Medicare payment rule that it estimates will increase aggregate home health agency payments by 2.4%, or $415 million compared with 2026. The rule also permits retroactive Medicare enrollment revocations for noncompliance and makes other changes to payment calculations and provider oversight.
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services released its final 2027 home health payment rule on Wednesday, estimating that the changes will raise aggregate Medicare payments to home health agencies by 2.4%, or $415 million, compared with 2026. The rule also gives CMS authority to make Medicare enrollment revocations effective from the date a provider’s noncompliance began, a change the agency says will strengthen its ability to recover payments and address improper activity.
CMS said the projected increase combines a 2.1% payment update with an estimated 0.3% increase tied to the updated fixed dollar loss amount, which is used in calculating outlier payments. The agency’s estimate is aggregate; the source report does not specify how the final payment changes will vary among individual agencies. The final increase is in line with the amount CMS proposed in July.
The rule also includes a temporary -3% adjustment to the 2027 national standardized payment rate. It continues the 30-day unit of payment and the Patient-Driven Groupings Model, or PDGM, case-mix methodology. CMS finalized recalibrated PDGM case-mix weights and updated outlier payment calculations, low-utilization payment adjustment thresholds, functional impairment levels and comorbidity adjustment subgroups.
CMS did not finalize an additional permanent adjustment to the 30-day base payment rate. The agency said it will continue analyzing 2026 claims to decide whether further permanent adjustments are needed to account for PDGM. The final rule also adds or expands Medicare enrollment denial and revocation grounds, including provisions related to certain changes in majority ownership and suspensions or revocations affecting owners and managing personnel.
Payment Changes and Provider Oversight
The rule affects both Medicare payment calculations for home health agencies and the conditions for remaining enrolled in the program. CMS projects a $415 million year-over-year increase in aggregate payments, but the combined rate update, temporary adjustment and case-mix revisions mean the headline estimate does not, by itself, show how a particular agency’s reimbursement will change.
The enrollment provisions could also have financial consequences for providers found noncompliant. CMS estimates the final rule will save taxpayers about $82 million annually by improving its ability to recover Medicare payments and keep high-risk providers from entering or remaining in the program. That figure is the agency’s estimate, not a reported result from implementation. CMS says most of the fraud-focused measures apply across Medicare provider types, rather than only to home health agencies.
For agencies, owners and operators, the combination makes the rule relevant beyond annual rate planning: it changes payment parameters and expands potential enforcement actions. For beneficiaries, CMS frames the oversight provisions as a way to protect the program while preserving access to care. The source material does not quantify how the rule may affect local provider availability or beneficiary access.
Products Worth Considering

Levoit Vital 100S-P Air Purifier for Home and Pets

Fitbit Inspire 3 Health and Fitness Tracker Bundle

TheraGun Therabody PRO Plus 6-in-1 Deep Tissue Massage Gun, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the 2027 Rule Was Built
The final rule follows CMS’ proposal in July, which included an aggregate increase matching the 2.4% estimate in the final version. The final rule continues the existing 30-day payment framework and PDGM, while updating the inputs used to account for patient characteristics and outlier costs. CMS has not yet decided whether later permanent adjustments to the base payment are warranted; its analysis of 2026 claims remains underway.
Under the existing regulations described in the report, certain revocations take effect 30 days after CMS or its contractor mails a notice. The finalized policy allows revocations to be made retroactive to the start of noncompliance. The rule also addresses ownership changes: certain home health agencies, hospices and durable medical equipment suppliers undergoing a change in majority ownership must reenroll as new providers and undergo a survey or accreditation. CMS may deny or revoke enrollment when providers fail to meet those requirements.
CMS also responded to comments on access to community-based palliative care and a request for information about a home health-specific wage index using an alternative data source. It acknowledged home health’s role in palliative care and said it plans to provide examples through future sub-regulatory guidance. It did not announce a methodology or implementation plan for a new wage index. Separately, the rule amends the definition of durable medical equipment to include certain external infusion pumps and associated home infusion drugs.
“The Trump Administration is taking action to hold noncompliant providers accountable and ensure Medicare works with legitimate, qualified providers.”
— CMS Administrator Dr. Mehmet Oz
Open Questions on Rates and Guidance
Agency-specific payment effects are not detailed in the source material, which reports only CMS’ aggregate estimate. The report also does not provide the full methodology behind the $415 million projection or the $82 million annual savings estimate, so those figures should be understood as agency estimates rather than realized outcomes.
CMS has not determined whether additional permanent adjustments to the 30-day base rate are needed; it says that decision depends on analysis of 2026 claims. It also has not set out a new home health-specific wage index method or schedule. The timing and content of the promised palliative-care guidance are not specified in the reported material.
The final rule’s enforcement provisions are described, but the source does not report how many providers may be affected, how CMS will establish the date noncompliance began in individual cases, or what the practical effects will be for provider participation and patient access. Those implementation details remain open.
Claims Review and Implementation
CMS will continue reviewing 2026 home health claims to determine whether additional permanent payment adjustments are warranted. The finalized payment parameters and enrollment policies are set out for calendar year 2027; providers will need to account for the updated case-mix and outlier provisions as the rule takes effect.
Further developments include CMS’ promised sub-regulatory examples of home health palliative care services and any later decision on a home health-specific wage index. The source report gives no release dates for those items. The agency’s implementation of retroactive revocations and ownership-related enrollment requirements will also show how the new authorities are applied in individual cases.
Key Questions
How much does CMS estimate home health payments will increase in 2027?
CMS estimates aggregate Medicare payments to home health agencies will rise 2.4% compared with 2026, an estimated year-over-year increase of $415 million. The report does not give projected effects for individual agencies.
What makes up the 2.4% increase?
CMS attributes the estimate to a 2.1% payment update and an estimated 0.3% increase associated with the updated fixed dollar loss amount. The final rule also includes a temporary -3% adjustment to the 2027 national standardized payment rate.
What changes to Medicare enrollment revocations did CMS finalize?
The rule allows CMS to make enrollment revocations effective from the date noncompliance began, rather than, for certain cases under current regulations, 30 days after a revocation notice is mailed. CMS also added or expanded grounds for denying or revoking enrollment.
Did CMS adopt a new home health wage index?
No new wage index methodology or implementation plan was announced in the final rule, according to the source report. CMS responded to comments on the issue but left the question unresolved.
Will CMS make another permanent payment adjustment?
CMS did not finalize an additional permanent adjustment to the 30-day base payment rate. It said it will analyze 2026 claims before deciding whether further permanent adjustments are needed to account for PDGM.
Source: homehealthcarenews.com
